The capital city
Glitz, glamour, golf and more
Center of the Blues Universe
French Camp was established in 1812 and used as a recruitment camp by General Andrew Jackson. It includes an 1846 log cabin, visitors center, crafts and sorghum mill. It was the antebellum home of Colonel James Drane, c. 1846-48. The Council House of Greenwood LeFlore, a Choctaw Indian Chief and Mississippi Senator, is now home to the Council House Cafe'. French Camp, resting ninety miles north of Jackson, is a timeless treasure tucked into the dense forest and gently rolling meadows which frame the Natchez Trace. Local legends abound of a colorful past containing generals, pirates, explorers, Indians, bootleggers and buried gold. The real French Camp Story is not about a place, but about the people. The pioneering spirit and resourcefulness of the first settlers carved a way of life from the abundant Mississippi wilderness. Their faith and spiritual foundation provided necessary values and morals that shaped their relationships with each other.
Come discover how early American life used to be in our quaint log cabin village located in the Natchez Trace Historic District of French Camp Academy. Walk through the 19th century style farm house to see how a Revolutionary War soldier lived. See how handmade quilts are stitched together piece by piece. Watch sorghum being made every Saturday in October. Hand-made pottery and a grist mill will be coming soon to the area. There is a renovated log cabin museum with time-tested French Camp memorabilia and artifacts. The Rainwater Observatory and Planetarium offers a rare opportunity for gazing at the stars. A quaint log house B & B with large front porch outfitted with rockers and several other cabins provide travelers a warm and comfortable place to rest. A gift shop selling homemade items and foods is also in a log cabin nearby.
Don’t miss the Council House Café offering a delectable lunch experience. Enjoy delicious sandwiches on our homemade French Camp bread which is baked and sold on site. Complete your meal with either their famous Mississippi Mud Cake or freshly made bread pudding. The café is serves lunch Mon thur Sat from 10a.m. till 2p.m. The Welcome Center/Bread Bakery is open Mon thur Fri day from 8a.m. till 5p.m. This is an extremely unique place to visit, a balm for the soul.
THE OFFICIAL TOURISM RESOURCE FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI