The capital city
Glitz, glamour, golf and more
Center of the Blues Universe
The Oaks was built in 1853 by four-term mayor, James Hervey Boyd, on an urban farmstead about a mile from the center of town. The Greek Revival style cottage is one of few remaining antebellum structures in Jackson. The National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Mississippi has restored the Boyd House with original and period furnishings and is recreating the Victorian garden. Archaeological research has revealed the location of the detatched kitchen and other outbuildings. Tour includes a video presentation on Jackson's early history. Visit the Oaks to experience middle-class life in the mid 19th-century capital city.
THE OFFICIAL TOURISM RESOURCE FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI