The capital city
Glitz, glamour, golf and more
Center of the Blues Universe
Historic home tours are conducted daily. Drop by or call the Tennessee Williams Welcome Center for schedules of antebellum homes that are open year-round for tour.
Tour points out Columbus' most interesting and historic architectural details. Brochure available at Tennessee Williams Welcome Center.
Step back in time in a restored 1900 Victorian home in the heart of downtown Columbia. The Turn-of-the-century home features beautiful mantels, high ceilings. French doors, Crystal chandeliers, hardwood floors and an eclectic mix of antique furniture. Experience the peace of years past in the guest rooms with private bath, double parlors, wrap-around porch, outside deck, playhouse and treehouse. Breakfast is served in the dining room on fine china and sterling silver. Full breakfast. 4 rooms. Member of Bed & Breakfast Association of Mississippi.
Wedding ceremony, reception and rehearsal dinner; Banquet/Dinner; Private Party; Corporate Event; PR/Marketing event; Meeting; Conference; Retreat; Filming/photo shoot. Member of Bed & Breakfast Association of Mississippi.
The original portion of this house was built as a stagecoach stop in the early 1840s. In 1847, the property was acquired by J. Z. George, who added the Greek Revival elements. J. Z. George served as a United States Senator from Mississippi and was instrumental in establishing the United States Department of Agriculture. His statue stands in Statuary Hall of the United States Capitol. The grounds contain a free-standing hexagonal library which was built in 1887.
c. 1840s. This structure is the oldest home in Jones County continuously lived in by the same family. Recently, the home was donated to the Tallahala Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
c. 1840 and 1878. Transition Greek Revival/Italianate architecture. Two historic structures in magnificent rural setting offers host guided tours and facilities for private functions and events. National Register of Historic Places. Includes lovely bed & breakfast cottage with 2 suites, located near the Natchez Trace Parkway, received the Award of Merit from the Mississippi Heritage Trust for historic preservation.
Elms Court is one of the most outstanding suburban villa residences in Natchez. Construction on the two-story center portion of the Greek Revival structure was begun around 1836. In 1895, James Surget bought Elms Court from relatives and presented it to his daughter, Carlotta, as a wedding gift when she married David McKittrick, whose descendants still occupy the home. Elms Court is often on tour during either the Spring or Fall Pilgrimages.
This modest historic residence was the home of Richard Elward, a book-binder and Natchez newspaper editor. Set close to the street on a corner of a lot encircled by a palisade fence, the brick cottage is distinguished by the high quality of its exterior, Greek Revival style woodwork. You can find it while strolling through the garden district of town and it's side faces that of Greenleaves.
c. 1851. Built by Robert D. Smith, a free African-American who operated a carriage service in historic Natchez. Once operated as an inn by Portuguese merchant Jose Bontura.
THE OFFICIAL TOURISM RESOURCE FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI