The capital city
Glitz, glamour, golf and more
Center of the Blues Universe
From primitive camping to full-service RV accommodations to cozy cabins, Mississippi's State Parks are fantastic places to stay. For complete information, click here.
Greenlea, a stunning B&B, is one of the finest examples of Greek Revival architecture in Natchez. Exceptionally fine brick work and original geometric garden are enhanced by landscaping added by the present owners. Home of Mr. and Mrs. Philip Carby. National Register. One Bedroom. Full Breakfast.
Hattiesburg has one of the largest, most intact historic districts in southeast Mississippi, featuring architectural styles dated between 1884 and 1930. The neighborhood hosts several annual events.
c. 1843. Isaac Williams, a laborer and slave trader, and his brother Thomas, a blacksmith, were free men of color, who settled in the area and built this raised cottage.
Stop by the Tennessee Williams Welcome Center and pick up your walking tour brochure. The welcome center is your starting point.
Visitors to this charming town, established in 1850, will enjoy their stay with abundant shopping opportunities, great dining, and much more.
c. 1850. Completely restored Greek Revival mansion. Many original furnishings and memorabilia.
The oldest continuously inhabited settlement in Jefferson Davis County. We provide tours of the Holloway-Polk house, which is significant as the only surviving house in Mt. Carmel, built when Mt. Carmel, a thriving community, (founded in 1819) was an incorporated bustling academic and commercial town. The original owner, William B. Holloway built the home in 1864 and lived in it. Robert Decatur Polk, an African-American, bought the home in 1911 and it has been occupied by the Polks since that time. Through the tours, students and/or the public learn and interact with the life and culture of the early 1800's.
Holly Hedges was one of the earliest homes built in the developing City of Natchez, circa 1796, when John Scott, a carpenter at the Spanish fort, was granted the property with the stipulation that he allow no bull fighting in the side yard. It is not clear that the house which stands upon the lot today was built by Scott in 1796 or in 1818 by Edward Turner when he acquired the property. An 1835 landscape painting of the area illustrates the house as it looks today, after its enlargement by a rear addition with two distinctive gable roofs. The house is not open for tour year round but can be viewed on a walking, driving or carriage tour from the street. It will, on occasion, be open for tour during Spring or Fall Pilgrimage.
Designed by noted architect C.H. Lindsley and furnished by Marshall Field of Chicago, the Governor Hugh White mansion is "probably Mississippi's finest residential essay in the Colonial Revival Style" built in 1925.
In 1887, former slaves of Jefferson Davis' brother, Joseph, formed their own community and called it Mound Bayou. Mr I. T. Montgomery was one of the town founders. Community brochure available from Mound Bayou City Hall.
THE OFFICIAL TOURISM RESOURCE FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI