The capital city
Glitz, glamour, golf and more
Center of the Blues Universe
Enjoy an exterior glimpse at over 50 historic homes. Brochure available at the Aberdeen Visitors Bureau.
c.1876. This breathtaking Italianate mansion sits atop a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River and is one of Mississippi's best preserved historical homes. It showcases beautiful oval, arched woodwork and trim and intricate Bavarian plaster. Member of Bed & Breakfast Association of Mississippi.
c. 1838. The oldest operating courthouse in Mississippi. Contains original records from 1807, as well as memoirs and mementos of Confederate soldiers.
c. 1856. A Mississippi Landmark. Dogtrot house, built by the founder of nearby Arm, MS, of hand-hewn boards and peg construction. On the National Register of Historic Places, and has been designated a Mississippi Landmark.
Beautifully restored B'nai B'rith Club in historic downtown Vicksburg; showers, parties, reception, luncheon, banquet.
Built in 1900 and given to the Yazoo Library Association by Mrs. Fanie Ricks in memory of her husband, this example of Beaux Arts Classicism continues to serve Yazoo City and County as a public library. This was the first property in Yazoo County and the first public library in Mississippi entered on the National Register of Historic Places. It is the oldest public library building in the state still in use, and has also been designated a Mississippi Literary Landmark in recognition of its association with author Willie Morris.
The congregation was formed in 1870 when African-American members of the Carrollton Baptist Church expressed a desire to have their own house of worship. The current building was constructed in 1923.
Last home of Confederate President Jefferson Davis. Includes Beauvoir House, Small Confederate Museum, historic cemetery, Tomb of the Unknown Confederate Soldier and gift shop.
Benton, Mississippi was the Yazoo County seat from 1829 to 1850. Settled by William W. Gadberry in 1828, first court being held in his log home. Chartered in 1836. Nearby Cedar Grove Plantation was home of Col. John Sharp and of famed U.S. Senator John Sharp Williams.
A museum depicting the 120-year history of the Biloxi Fire Department from its organization on September 19, 1883, through its years as a completely volunteer group, to a full-paid fire department.
THE OFFICIAL TOURISM RESOURCE FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI