The capital city
Glitz, glamour, golf and more
Center of the Blues Universe
Visitors to Ocean Springs have a wonderful opportunity at the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center. The building was once an old schoolhouse but was made into a cultural center complete with classrooms for pottery lessons, woodcarving and oil painting lessons, a music studio and a performing arts stage.
The Mary Jane Lampton Auditorium was built in 1913 on Whitworth College Campus. Serves as a meeting facility as well as part of the Mississippi School of the Arts.
The lodge was formed in 1834 and has served the community continuously since. Its current location was built in 1899.
c. 1901. Interesting railroad museum with memorabilia dating back to the 1800's, lends insight as to the development of the historic McComb community.
c. 1930. Hot Coffee's "mini mall", unique country store features wooden floors, rocking chairs, delicious hand dipped ice cream and old fashion hoop cheese. Enjoy RC drinks, Moon Pies and plenty of hot coffee. Ya'll c'mon by now ... you hear!
Evers was the first field secretary for the NAACP in Jackson at the time of his death, June 12, 1963. The small house and site of his assassination, and the neighborhood of similar houses that surround it, make palpable the very simple longings for freedom and opportunity that drove the Civil Rights Movement. As a museum and house in a historic district, the renovated structure informs those who visit of the many sacrifices that took place in Jackson and in Mississippi, and presents a modern link in the succession of Mississippi landmarks that communicate the history of the state.
c. 1900. Originally the historic "Thames House", this beautiful structure was restored in 1992 and donated to the City of Mendenhall for use as a City Hall.
This old "Country Store" specializes in Simpson County/Mississippi made products, gift baskets, jewelry and much more while retaining its 1928 ambiance.
The Merrill Museum is home to the John S. McCain Collection, which contains memorabilia collected by the father and grandfather of United States Senator John McCain, whose family hails from Carroll County. The museum also contains extensive bottle and arrowhead collections, historic agricultural implements, and other memorabilia. It is housed in an 1834 building that was part of a row of buildings called Tobin Row. It is open by appointment.
Founded in 1884, MUW was the first public college for women in America. The campus boasts 24 buildings on the "National Register of Historic Places".
Meeting space, weddings, private and corporate events.
THE OFFICIAL TOURISM RESOURCE FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI